Competency Standards are performance specifications that identify the knowledge and competencies an individual needs to succeed in the workplace. NAVTTC develops competency standards in consultation with experts from industry that are validated by Industry Advisory Groups (IAGs).

The competency standards are used by industry and training institutions in following areas:


– Performance Evaluation

– Organization Development

– Job Design and Evaluation

– Industry Regulation


– Delivery & Evaluation of Training

– Assurance of quality of training

– Identifying Training Needs

– Designing Training Programs

Process for competency standards development is as under:

Step-1: Identification of Occupation

Step-2: Conduct DACUM/Job Analysis

Step-3: Standardization of Competencies

Step-4: Validation of Competency Standards by IAG

Step-5: Recognition of Competency Standards by NAVTTC

Step-6: Access and Usage

competency describes exactly what a worker should be able to do and must know in order to effectively perform a job in the workplace. A competency-based training approach therefore, focuses on the demonstration of the actual skills required in the workplace. The National Skills Strategy (NSS) aims to a paradigm from time-bound and supply led to competency-based and demand driven training in Pakistan. To achieve this NAVTTC in collaboration with Provincial Technical Education & Vocational Training Authorities (TEVTAs) develop Competency Standards, Curricula and other Instructional Material for introduction of competency based training in Pakistan.